My grandpa is strict.

 

When we were living with my grandpa in the province of Batangas in 1980’s in his ancestral house,  I remember how he is very strict to everyone to wake up early before sunrise. I can consider this as an example of a  Positive Punishment.

Grandpa have a rice mill. Everytime we hear the engine starts, we know that he is already awake. We will smell the freshly brewed kapeng barako and  it will be followed later on by my grandpa waking us up to sweep the floor and burn the dried leaves and grasses in the front yard. He wanted us to fix the bed and comb our hair before we get down from the second floor of the 2-storey house. So everytime we hear the rice mill’s engine in the morning, we wake up and starts the routine before our grandpa will shout from the kitchen. He keeps on talking until he saw us moving around and cleaning the house. So to avoid this long sermon, every morning if we hear the engine starts, we immediately fix our beddings and ran down to meet him. After our early morning household chores, my grandma will prepare a delicious breakfast and we will eat together, if you will wake up late, you cannot join in the meal and the left over will be the only food you can have. This value I keep on remembering when  I went to school and at work.

A positive punishment works if presented a negative consequence (long sermon) after an undesirable behavior (waking up late) is exhibited, to make the behavior less likely to happen in the future (to wake up early).

I consider my experience positive because besides learning the values of “punctuality and early bird gets the worm”,  I still remember how he train us on doing this thing and get used with the household routine at an early age. So thankful with my grandpa and grandma for bringing up this virtue.

Leave a Reply

